Maybe it's just us....
For the longest time, we've had to get after Beeskers to brush her teeth better. I was conflicted about my responsibility to make sure her teeth are clean and not wanting to criticize her.
We had too many arguments about it.
I think we've turned a corner. Why? Because of stickers. Let me explain.
So in an effort to satisfy my need to make sure her teeth are getting clean and her need for independence. (She said that she feels like a 5 year old if I try to watch and make sure she's doing it right.), we came up with a system.
She goes in and brushes (she has a 2 minute timer from the dentist), flosses, and uses mouth rinse....all by herself. Then I get to inspect it. If she does a good job, then she gets to pick out a sticker. I have a small stash. So far, it's working like a charm. Her teeth are clean and she doesn't feel like a 5 year old because she gets to do it herself.
So people...if you are out there...learn from my mistakes. I should have tried something like this years ago. Sometimes you just have to stop and realize that your way isn't working and try something new.
No comments:
Post a Comment